DeMoss Chosen for Henshaw-Whitley Award - WMBB News 13 - The Panhandle's News Leader

DeMoss Chosen for Henshaw-Whitley Award

Posted: Updated:
Bay High School teacher Maegan DeMoss is the 2014 recipient of the Henshaw-Whitley Teacher Excellence Award.

She is a reading teacher who works with students to improve their reading skills. Letters of recommendation about Mrs. DeMoss described her dedication to her students as a teacher who believes in her students, provides them with a environment that permits rich creativity and finds great joy in their successes. 

Logan Flint, Melissa Guynn, Melanie Malone and Emily Messer were also nominees for the award. 

The Henshaw-Whitley Teacher Excellence Award was established by Eugene Cartledge and the Bay High School class of 1947 in honor of two Bay High School teachers, Eleanor Henshaw Ovca and Orin Whitley. The purpose of the award is to recognize teachers who make major contributions in the lives of students and who significantly elevate the profession of classroom teaching in the eyes of the public. In an effort to further enhance and enrich Bay High School’s learning experience, a fund has been created to provide a perpetual funding source from which a Selection Committee may make an annual award up to $10,000 to the teacher who is selected each year.